The Ermatinger Clergue National Historic Site consists of the two oldest stone buildings northwest of Toronto. 200 years old, these buildings have witnessed the growth and transformation of a small Ojibwa encampment into a Northern Ontario hub.
Our newest addition to the property is our Heritage Discovery Centre. This visitor centre will introduce visitors to our National Historic Site with features including interactive exhibits, multimedia presentations, artifact showcases, a special War of 1812 gallery, a 50 seat orientation theatre and a spacious gift shop.
The Ermatinger Old Stone House provides a link to Sault Ste. Marie's role in the fur trade and to one of its earliest settlers. Charles Oaks Ermatinger, his Ojibway wife, and their children completed the house in 1814. It quickly became the center of government, business and social life in the district. The family stayed in Sault Ste. Marie until 1828 at which time Charles retired and moved the family to Montreal. Over the century, the house had many uses and occupants, including the first post office, and first courthouse.
The Clergue Blockhouse is one of Sault Ste. Marie's most significant buildings. Its earliest association being with the North West Company housing its gun powder magazine constructed in 1819. Later, in 1894, it became the home of Francis Hector Clergue, an American industrialist who established a powerful industrial complex in Sault Ste. Marie at the turn of the 20th Century. The original location at the St. Mary's Paper Plant allowed Clergue to survey all his industries including a hydro-electric plant, a pulp and paper mill, a steel plant, and a rail and marine transportation network.
PO Box 580
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 5N1